/Farm operators eligible for disaster aid | Agriculture | wdtimes.com

Farm operators eligible for disaster aid | Agriculture | wdtimes.com

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Division of Agriculture has designated Jefferson, Waukesha, and Milwaukee, counties as contiguous disaster areas As a Outcome of of drought declarations in Racine, Kenosha, and Walworth.

Farm operators in any Of these affected counties Might Even be eligible for USDA assist. To study extra Regarding the packages and advantages out there, Congressman Scott Fitzgerald encourages farmers to contact their native Farm Providers Agency office.

Fitzgerald of Juneau has further urged USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack To incorporate Washington and Dodge counties On this disaster designation, as native drought circumstances have furtherly impacted farm operators in these areas extremely.

“Farmers throughout The complete fifth district have grappled with troublesome crop circumstances this previous month As a Outcome of of extreme droughts plaguing southeast Wisconsin. Whereas the current rain has been a welcome change, crop damage Can’t be undone with Simply a few days Of fantastic climate. I even Want to Guarantee eligible farmers are conscious this federal assist Is out there and that I’ve requested Dodge and Washington counties be eligible for this assist too,” said Fitzgerald.

Fitzgerald is monitoring this problem intently and is working To join farm operators Suffering from troublesome drought circumstances with The assist they need.