MN Department of Agriculture Receives Federal Funding to Address Farm Stress and Mental Health


St. Paul, MN: The U.S. Division of Agriculture’s Nationwide Institute of Meals and Agriculture (NIFA) is awarding the Minnesota Division of Agriculture (MDA) and 11 enterprise companions $500,000 to advance work in farm stress and rural psychological well being in Minnesota.

The MDA’s “Bend, Don’t Break” initiative will construct upon current efforts To join farmers and rural Minnesotans with assets To assist scale again stress, nervousness, and disaster circumstances, Similar to a Outcome of the drought That impacts many Minnesota farms and ranches. It is going to assist, enhance, and promote providers, such as psychological well being counseling, farm advocates, marriage retreats, and a 24/7 Farm & Rural Helpline, And might increase a radio current and podcast collection that profiles farmers Who’ve navigated troublesome circumstances.

“All of us know from working with farmers that suicide, farm transition and succession, authorized factors, household relationships, and youth stress are essential factors the place We will all make a distinction,” Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Thom Petersen said. “We’re grateful that the USDA May assist us increase our efforts.”

The initiative Can additionally enhance The expertise and responsiveness Of execs who work with farm households in stress by way of workshops, trainings, and completely different assets.

The MDA will companion with 11 organizations, collectively with a quantity of that serve Indigenous or rising/underserved farmers. Companions embrace:

• American Indian Group Housing Group

• Huge River Farms

• Farmers’ Legal Movement Group

• Latino Financial Enchancment Center

• Leech Lake Tribal School

• Minnesota Dairy Initiative

• Minnesota Division of Health

• Purple River Farm Community

• South Central School

• College of Minnesota Extension

• Metropolis Farm & Backyard Alliance

View The complete itemizing of USDA NIFA Farm and Ranch Stress Assistant Community grant recipients.